Reader reviews & ratings

Latest reviews by your library users

May 21, 2022

For: I Came as a Shadow: An Autobiography

I Came As A Shadow

This memoir by the legendary basketball coach is outstanding and offers multiple insights. For the reader who watched Thompson’s Georgetown teams, the book is a fun trip down memory lane. At the same time, Thompson accomplishes his objective of the book not being a basketball book as he shows through his life’s experiences how different the Black experience is in America. I didn’t realise Thompson won two titles with the Celtics, cut a deal with a DC drug lord to stay away from Alonzo Mourning, and eventually wound up on the Nike board. I had forgotten that Iverson served jail time before playing for Georgetown. Good book.

Published by: Patron378581

Apr 13, 2022

For: Betty Ford : First Lady, women's advocate, survivo...

GREAT BIOGRAPHY ! ALMOST UNBIASED.

I cannot stop reading it. It's interesting, full of facts, humor, photos and interviews with friends and formal entities. Deep, revealing and gracious at the same time. None of the gossip, that's oh, so possible...

Published by: Wellread111

Apr 12, 2022

For: The Supreme Court : a C-SPAN book featuring the ju...

"Much to do about nothing"

ALL THE JUDGES IN THE BOOK ARE LIKEWISE: THEY SEE THEMSELVES FIRST AND FOREMOST, AS THE PRIVILEGED AND THE LUCKY ONES TO BE WORKING IN THIS SPECIAL BUILDING !!! The rest seems to be second in importance... That's how wowed they all are by the sheer architecture and grandeur of their "home" away from home. I wanted to find in this book the answers to how the different Judges look for and make their decisions in the cases they are to decide on, and there were none. I do not recommend this book to anyone searching for answers.

Published by: Wellread111

Mar 11, 2022

For: John Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars

John Carpenter's Ghosts of Mars

This movie was the biggest waste of time ever. It consists mostly of fighting and killing and killing and fighting! I got so bored that I forgot what the plot was, which there wasn't much of a plot anyway.

Published by: missrette

Feb 16, 2022

For: Receiver of many

Hades and Persephone

I love the storyline and plot, the different course the story takes and just love the romance, interesting turn of how persephone 6 months on earth and 6 with hades

Published by: Monica_Campos

Jan 21, 2022

For: Flying angels

FLYING ANGELS.

The story could have been written much much better; in depth and with true feelings. Given the individual biographies of the young women, I would change the names between Emma (with her rough life roots and beginnings) and Pru-short for Prudence-a girl with the high English Royal-like Heritage). Also, Danielle Steel continually brings up the subject of Racism in her character Louise, a black American girl from a fine loving and highly educated family. The end of the novel is begging for the further development...of the lives of all the characters in the story.

Published by: Wellread111

Dec 30, 2021

For: Twinsight

BLIND-SIGHTED STORY.

PLEASE DO NOT CHOOSE THIS BOOK EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT HAVING TWINS IN YOUR FAMILY. THE OVERALL TONE OF THE BOOK IS PATRONIZING AND SAD. IT IS NOT HELPFUL, EITHER. THE AUTHOR IS USING SOME SO-CALLED "FACTS" ABOUT TWINS' IQ AND DNA IN THE ACTIVITIES THESE CHILDREN CHOOSE IN THEIR PLAY, THAT ARE HIGHLY QUESTIONABLE ! THERE IS JUST SO MUCH ASSUMPTION IN THIS OPUS, THAT I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE ! PLUS IT'S HUMORLESS AND HAS NO ILLUSTRATIONS AT ALL.

Published by: Wellread111

Dec 19, 2021

For: Four Good Days

Four Good Days

A good watch for anyone that is in this situation. It might wake them up and it might not, but it is an eye opener

Published by: missrette

Dec 18, 2021

For: The Chief's Chief

THE CHIEF'S CHIEF.

THE CHIEF OF STAFF ABOUT HIMSELF, THE PRESIDENT AND HIS LIFE AND WORK DURING 2020. I HAVE ENJOYED READING THIS BOOK. IT IS UNCONVENTIONAL, VERY INTERESTING AND TRULY EASY TO READ AND UNDERSTAND FOR MAJOR PUBLIC. IT SHOWS THE THINGS THAT OUR PRESIDENTS HAD DONE TO TRULY HELP THE NATION TO GAIN ITS POWER AND PRIDE BACK BY CLEAR AND JUST METHODS. IT ALSO DEMONSTRATES SOME OF HIS WEAKNESSES (ESPECIALLY AFTER HIS REBUT WITH EPIDEMIA OF COVID) IN ACTING OUT ON HIS MOOD RATHER THAN COOL HEAD... ALSO- THE BOOK "The Chief's Chief" is ABOUT ITS AUTHOR MARK MEADOWS WHO HAD BEEN AND IS A WONDERFUL PATRIOT TO THIS COUNTRY AND A TRUSTED FIRST HAND AND FRIEND TO PRESIDENT TRUMP. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK. IT'S WRITTEN VERY WELL AND NOT WITHOUT A SENSE OF HUMOR.

Published by: Wellread111

Nov 3, 2021

For: Great White (DVD)

Great White

I found this movie pretty much the run of the mill shark movie. Much like all the other shark movies except more boring.

Published by: missrette