Reader reviews & ratings

Latest reviews by your library users

Nov 13, 2022

For: Men

Men

If you have time to waste, watch this.

Published by: missrette

Nov 6, 2022

For: Travels with Charley : in search of America

TRAVELS WITH CHARLEY by JOHN STEINBECK.

A brilliant writer and a oh, so very intelligent man ! I am a foreigner, lived in this country for more than 40 years, as a Citizen, of course, and it is so very rare when you come upon a well-written book, it's upsetting and paradoxal at the same time. This tiny book by a genius is full of soft warmth, humor, love and understanding of animals , especially-his Charley, of course.... But it's not void of utter sadness and anger (to the extent) in the face of much of the societal degradation growing into disease...On these travels with Charley, author meets Trackers, who go months without human contact, without family or steady home or places to stay and rest, clean and eat, or to really have hearty conversation with a friend... Think about this...In Today's America It's the same, nothing changed, for trackers ! That is , at least, the whole Point for me -That is the whole goal and ingeniousness of this little book, and not the maps or roads he traveled, so much ! You must read this small gem to consider yourself as American.

Published by: Wellread111

Nov 6, 2022

For: Inflation

INFLATION...

I borrowed this book and couldn't wait for it to come out of press and then-to the Library shelves...I was so interested and influenced by Mr. Forbes talking about it on the television once, so intelligently and knowingly that I just could Not not to have it ! He talked about the logical connection of monetary degradation, social disarray and rise of violence so clearly and historically proven so many times before, that I was looking forward to read exactly what he was describing in his conversation about this book... But the "INFLATION:"...didn't mirror Mr. Forbes' conversation whatsoever ! I am totally unsatisfied and feel betrayed by this opus. Maybe because Three people instead of just one, STEVE FORBES, worked on it. As the saying goes: " Too many cooks spoil the dish." The book is compartmental, devoid of any valid explanations, doesn't provide the history of money (that took roots in Europe of late 15-16 century) and no solutions, either. Just recommends more debates. I say, enough of debates-time to act, instead ! Look at the History and learn from it, truly and with confidence ! I do not recommend this book.

Published by: Wellread111

Nov 1, 2022

For: The kiss

THE KISS by Danielle Steel.

Brilliantly written novel ! A love story in the midst of struggle and imperfection... I could not put the book down for a moment. And I cried all the way through it. A must be read for women of all ages !

Published by: Wellread111

Oct 28, 2022

For: Murder in red

Murder in Red

This mystery murder is quite believable and could very well taken place in any city or a town anywhere in the near past or now, today. Because it's a murder and a classical fraudulent cover up. Involving police, wealthy persons and so-called health providers and their insurers... So the plot (story line) is engaging. However, again, the text is full of slang and confusing language. Because of it, or on its own. The TV serial " The Murder, She Wrote", is much better, overall, than the books.

Published by: Wellread111

Oct 27, 2022

For: COW (DVD)

Cow

Sad but true...the life and death of a dairy cow. It left me feeling sad.

Published by: missrette

Oct 27, 2022

For: BULLET TRAIN (DVD)

Bullet Train

I am surprised that Brad Pitt would star in a movie like this. I kept waiting for Godzilla to show up and pick up the bullet train and throw it. And not to mention how LONG it is. Fighting took up most of the time. Some awful gory scenes too. Really disappointed!! Not much of a story line either.

Published by: missrette

Oct 26, 2022

For: Murder, She Wrote: Killer on the Court

Killing on the tennis court.

To my view, the plot is bizarre and totally not believable. Text is full of errors. A young woman had committed a crime for which she can never be acquitted or at least, understood. I didn't like the book at all.

Published by: Wellread111

Oct 23, 2022

For: Murder in season

"Christmas Murders"

Very weird plot or I guess, one that for some readers fits the Season. Not so for me. Writing is poor, full of grammatical and stylistic errors on each and every page. And slang is in abundance, unfortunately. Some phrases just do not make sense-example on page 218 on the bottom. The ansamble of characters on the side of law is well known to us all from TV series and is great ! And that's why I've given this title a 2.

Published by: Wellread111

Oct 23, 2022

For: Lincoln's Last Trial

LINCOLN'S LAST TRIAL. By Dan Abrams and David Fisher.

I found the book very interesting in its historical and judgmental sense, both. The discussion offered is marvelous, if somewhat lengthy and confusing at many instances because of the language of that period... And also, because the text goes back and force instead of going in one direction only. So the language is confusing. But the volume brings the last Trial as brilliantly as possible ! And in the end of it, the defendant in murder trial judged as Innocent ...and goes free. And his future strongly reminds me of the legendary Cain, whom God punished by ...but I will not spill the beans here - you all know the legend. This book is a must in my view !

Published by: Wellread111